Expat Facts: So You Want to Live In Spain: Auxiliares de Conversación FAQ

Everything you wanted to know about how to legally live in Spain for a year (and then some).

It’s Thursday, my busiest day of the week. This morning, I’ve got an English class sandwiched between science and math. I stop by the teachers’ room in between classes, greeting and being greeted with a chorus of hola, buenas from my coworkers, stopping to chat for a few minutes while I switch out my materials and leaving the room with plans to meet up for coffee and tostadas during recreo.

Contrary to popular belief, my average day here in sunny southern Spain tends to unfold as described above. When I told people back in the USA about my plans to move here, many of them seemed to have some Pinterest-perfect vision of me spending my days gallivanting around the Continent with handsome strangers on the backs of their Vespas, stopping only to enjoy a refreshing glass of sangria in a sun-drenched plaza. The closest I come to doing that is taking a spinning class at the gym with an instructor who does not look unlike Enrique Iglesias, then coming home to my apartment and having a glass of tinto with dinner.

Not my life.
Not my life.

Point being, I have a job and responsibilities here – I’m not living in a Eurotrip storybook fantasy. I am getting paid to live in Spain, but it requires some effort on my part. I work as a language and culture assistant (auxiliar de conversación) with a program run by the Spanish government. Because the application period for the 2016-17 school year opens in January, I thought I’d share what this opportunity is all about for those who are interested in applying.

What is the North American Language and Culture Assistants program?

Spain has long been the butt of Europe’s jokes re: foreign language proficiency, particularly in English. This program is essentially a PR strategy to change that image. It allows native speakers from the USA and Canada to legally reside in Spain for one academic year, helping teach English (or French, as applicable to our friends up north) in bilingual schools.

Bilingual schools? What are thooooooose?

In centros bilingües, all course material is presented in both Spanish and the designated second language – in the case of my high school, English. This means that my job as an auxiliar goes far beyond explaining the difference between “they’re,” “there,” and “their” to non-native English speakers. I assist in math, science, geography, and history classes that are taught in English, as well as a handful of English language classes.

And sometimes you get to go on trips, like the time I went to Madrid with the segundo de bachillerato kids.
And sometimes you get to go on trips, like the time I went to Madrid with the segundo de bachillerato kids.

Go to the program website and check out the list of requirements (bookmark the site and refer back to it often so you know when the applications open). You’ll need to fill out an online application and submit a personal statement, letter of recommendation, scan of your passport, and most recent official transcripts. (I think that was it from the 2015 application, but don’t quote me on that).

With that being said, placements are given on a first come, first serve basis. As long as you meet the (very basic) requirements and submit all parts to the application, you will more than likely receive a spot. There is no TEFL certificate or previous teaching experience required. It is “recommended” that you have at least a B1 level of Spanish, but judging by the girl who copy/pasted her entire acceptance letter into our Facebook group asking “what does all this mean??????” they don’t really take that into consideration, either (they probably figure it’s not their fault if you’re screwed when you get here because you can’t communicate).

If you’re still unsure about the program, apply ASAP just in case – you can always reject your placement later with no consequences if you change your mind.

I want to work in a big city in Castilla y León with primary school students. Can I do exactly that?

In theory, yes. The application will ask you to select your top 3 autonomous communities (some communities are not available to North American applicants, check the program manual for more info), your preferred age group, and the size of city where you would like to work. If you have no idea which comunidad autónoma is the best fit for you, here’s a great guide to all 17 of them written by a former auxiliar.

Again, in theory, the sooner you submit your application, the more likely you are to receive your preferences. The program attempts to accommodate everyone’s choices as best as possible, but sometimes comes up short. I got my first choice region of Andalucía and my first choice age group of high school students, but instead of a large city as I requested, they put me in Cantoria (pop. 3,592). You win some, you lose some. I live in a larger nearby town and commute to school with my coworkers, and it’s not as bad as I was expecting.

Keep this in mind and be open to anything, because it’s not a given that you’ll be given your top preferences (in my case, I’m pretty sure they just threw a dart at a map of Andalucía and placed me wherever it happened to land). Also, if you request Madrid, keep in mind that Madrid is its own autonomous community, and not just the city itself. Multiple people in our Facebook group pitched a fit because they requested Madrid and got Madrid, but their schools were not located right on Gran Vía.

Probably not where you'll be working if you choose Madrid.
Probably not where you’ll be working if you choose Madrid.

Tell me about the benefits.

You get paid €700 a month (€1000 in Madrid, to make up for the higher cost of living), in addition to free health insurance in all regions. The salary looks small, and while it’s nothing luxurious, it’s easy to live off of here in southern Spain, where the cost of living is much lower than many people would expect. For example, I pay €250 per month (around $300 USD) in rent. That’s it. That’s the total price of rent. I live alone – that’s not just my share. I have a three bedroom, two bathroom apartment and it’s huge. In contrast, my shoebox apartment in Athens during senior year was $910 total, with my roommate and I each paying around $500 after utilities. The place was half the size of where I live now. Spain wins this round.

You’ll work almost the vacation-like schedule of 12 hours a week (16 in Madrid – don’t complain, y’all get paid more). Many people freelance or teach private English classes in their free time to have a little extra money. You also only work 3 or 4 days a week, which gives you lots of opportunities to travel around Spain and Europe on the weekends and possibly meet a handsome cordobés stranger in a charming craft beer bar (but that’s a story for another post).

Above all, this program is one of the very few ways for a non-EU citizen to legally live in Europe long-term. If you like the sound of that but Spain doesn’t float your boat, there are similar programs in France and Italy.

What is your role in the classroom like?

First of all, auxiliares are not teachers. We are never allowed to be alone in the room with the students and aren’t expected to plan full lessons and/or teach the entire class period. My responsibilities range from basic pronunciation help to preparing short presentations or games to help reinforce the material, depending on the day and the teacher. If a teacher wants me to prep something in advance, he or she always lets me know ahead of time – and in any case, I always get briefed on the material beforehand so I know what’s going on.

In many cases, teachers will ask me to relate class material back to my own country or culture. So far this year I’ve helped teach about the American Revolution in history class, the National Parks system in geography, and the US dollar and all of our weird imperial units in math.

Come January…

I’ve applied to the program. Now what?

Be patient. Within a few weeks, you’ll find out if you are admitida (meaning that all your documents have been accepted and you meet all the requirements. Very few people don’t get admitida). In April, once the application period closes, people will start to find out their regional placements (which autonomous community you’ll be working in) – again, the sooner you submit your application, the sooner you’ll find out your placement. Not long after accepting your regional placement, you’ll get your school placement, which is where you’ll be working. I got my school placement one week to the day after accepting my regional placement for Andalucía this past year, but it can vary based on location.

Your school placement comes in the form of a carta de nombramiento, which you’ll more than likely get by email (I don’t think any regions send them out as snail mail anymore). KEEP YOUR CARTA because you will need it to apply for your visa, as well as for some things here in Spain (I needed it to open a bank account and sign a lease for my apartment, and I think I’ll need it for my TIE appointment this week).

After getting your carta, it’s time to start the super fun visa application process! Make your appointment well in advance, because slots fill up quickly. At some consulates, you might not need an appointment (lucky!). Because I’m from Ohio, I had to go to the consulate in Chicago to apply for my visa, which meant driving 12 hours round trip from Cleveland to spend approximately 30 seconds handing in paperwork. The visa requirements vary by consulate, but for Chicago I needed:

  • Completed visa application form
  • Valid passport and ID
  • Recent passport size photos
  • Carta de nombramiento. This covers “hardcopy acceptance letter,” “evidence of funds” and “proof of health insurance” as listed on the official visa requirements.
  • A medical certificate signed by my doctor, on office letterhead
  • A state-level background check, notarized and sealed with the Apostille of the Hague (this sounds fancy schmancy, but it took me 5 minutes at the Secretary of State’s office in Columbus – easier to do than to pronounce! I believe you can also do it by mail if you live far from your state’s capital.)
  • A self-addressed prepaid USPS Priority Express envelope for them to mail your passport back to you (with the visa inside)
  • Money order of $160
A little bit of España in Chi-town
A little bit of España in Chi-town

Check to see which consulate serves your jurisdiction before applying for your visa.

These are the most common questions I’ve gotten from friends and acquaintances back home about this program, so I hope it helps. If there’s anything I didn’t cover here, please comment below or send me an email and I’ll be happy to help.

Hasta luego!

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! I applied to the program for the 2016-17 school year the first day it opened. I ended up overnighting my paperwork, because I’m paranoid and wanted to track it, and I was admitada two days later!

    1. Great news! I understand, you can never be too sure 🙂

    2. Mattie says:

      Wowza, problem solved like it never haepnped.

  2. Sean says:

    Two questions:

    Do you get any TEFL training once in Spain?

    Does it matter if you graduated from college 1+ year before applying? I noticed in a profile they said they are looking for university students but from some reviews I’ve read that doesn’t seem to matter too much.

    1. Hi Sean, this program does not provide TEFL training, but similar programs do – BEDA for example requires its assistants to take some courses. It also doesn’t matter when you graduated – there are some assistants in their 40s and 50s!

  3. Danielle Maia says:

    Thanks so much for this post! I just got my placement and I am from Ohio. I want to start getting everything together and this post was detailed, but to the point. Thanks again!

    1. Glad it helped and cheers to a fellow Ohioan going to Spain!

  4. Hi Lindsey! Did you get your background check done in your city first before and then bring it with you to be notarized and sealed in Columbus?

    1. I’m from Columbus 🙂 I sent my fingerprints off for the background check and told them to notarize it. When I got the notarized check in the mail, I took it to the Secretary of State’s office downtown to get the apostille.

      1. Awesome! I’m from Cincinnati so I will probably just make the short trip to Columbus. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

